Uncategorized

Lab Babies

Quick update, as I rethink the necessity of sharing this journey on a daily basis. The blog will always stay (I DO HAVE BIG PLANS FOR IT!!) but I am not sure if sharing all the tidbits about getting pregnant is pragmatic…Not that I have ever been very pragmatic.

scan010-600x577

So the retrieval was this past Saturday, June 30th and I had 21 eggs retrieved and Bryan had his swimmers retrieved too. Both procedures weren’t bad at all, but I suffered for the past few days with major pain, bloating and constipation. These were things I was only slightly aware of. I didn’t realize how much pain I would be in. Nevertheless, I am feeling much better today. Not 100% yet, but getting there.

The day after the retrieval the Dr. Shapiro called and let me know that 9 eggs fertilized normally. So right now, we have 9 fertilized eggs transforming, like a caterpillar in a cocoon, into embryos. One (or two) of those tiny embryos is our future child! It is so crazy and exciting and crazy to think about.

Now, come Friday, all 9 may have not made it. (Sad face) But at that point we will get a more detailed update about the quality of the surviving embryos. So stay tuned for an update, until then…thanks for reading!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

