Uncategorized

Happy Surprises

wreath

So as to not put myself into too much of a tizzy, and due to some personal reasons which involved travel, I have been off the grid a bit lately. However, it seems that not putting energy into the social aspect of my current journey has allowed some progress minus the constant thought and worry that could accompany. And the progress-made entails some exciting news for me to share.

We went through all of the initial testing, some of which I went over in this post. Day 3 blood work included levels of FSH, LH, HCG, Progesterone and Estradiol. They did not give me all of the results, but I did take a peek at my paper work to get as much info as I could. Here are my day 3 results:

FSH – 8.8 (Follicle Stimulating Hormone – is a hormone that is secreted in the cells of the ovaries and at one time was the gold standard for predicting ovarian reserve. While it can be a predictor of conception, it fluctuates during the cycle and therefore is tested on day 3 of the menstrual cycle.)
LH – 8.1 (Luteinizing Hormone – A hormone that causes ovulation to occur which often is tested to determine if a woman is at risk for prematurely ovulating while taking fertility medications)
P4 – 0.5 (Progesterone – A hormone produced by the ovary after ovulation. A high level indicates ovulation has occurred while a low level in pregnancy may be associated with an abnormal pregnancy or a woman at risk for miscarriage)
E2 – 49 (A hormone produced by growing eggs. Typically, each mature egg will produce at least 150 pg/ml of estradiol. It is used to assess a woman’s response to fertility medication and to better assess how many eggs are growing and is also referred to as the estrogen level.)
AMH – 1.1 (Antimullerian Hormone – a hormone produced by the growing prenatal follicles. This is the newest test to assess a woman’s egg quantity and quality.)

The day 3 transvaginal ultrasound showed that I had 16 total antral follicles (9 in the right ovary and 7 in the left). That seems to be fairly normal numbers for my age, although not ideal. From AdvancedFertility.com: “Intermediate (and “normal”) count. Response to drug stimulation is sometimes low, but is usually good. Pregnancy rates as a group are slightly reduced compared to the “best” group.”

The day 10 sonohysterogram showed that I do not have any obstructions in my uterus or ovaries. This part certainly felt like a success to me! It all felt like a success. The other great measure of success was hearing that Bryan’s hormone counts came back basically perfect, meaning although he has had a vasectomy, he is still making viable sperm. Win. Win. WIN!

We met with our doc on Monday this week and he seems fairly optimistic about our test results and has us moving forward with ovary stimulation starting with my next period. Which should be here on the 16th! EEEK! Thankfully my period has been very regular lately so I am certain that day 4 of this cycle will fall on the 19th. This was also an amazing surprise because after all of the research I have done I was sure that I would be put on birth control and Lupron for 2-4 weeks before ovary stimulation. But that isn’t the case. I will share more about that in a future post. So, on the 19th we will go meet with our IVF coordinator, the amazing Christie, and she will go over all of my injectable medication and how to use them. I already have the quotes coming in from a couple different pharmacies and the numbers aren’t pretty. Fertility medication, as I am sure you already know, is not cheap. Our insurance does not cover injectable fertility medication, only oral fertility medication (which there is one of), so I have just applied with First Steps for financial assistance for the fertility medication. This  assistance is based on household income, but depending on where you sit, you could save anywhere from 5%-75% of the costs of fertility medication. Fingers crossed that we get accepted! From the First Steps site: “For thousands of Americans suffering with infertility, one of the first steps before seeking treatment is figuring out how to pay for it. Unfortunately, it is estimated that over 50% of patients who seek treatment do not have any level of fertility medical or drug coverage. To aid some of these patients with drug cost, DesignRx has created First Steps, a patient financial assistance program.”

So today, I am feeling really happy, hopeful and super confident that all of the next steps in this amazing journey are going to go well. I am manifesting nothing but the best outcome, while adding a few cherries on the top: is it too much to hope for a girl?

Update 6/8/17: We qualified for First Steps financial assistance. Although it is only a 5% discount, it is something. So my medications are ordered and I should be receiving them on June 14th. It’s all happening!!

Leave a Reply

